Speak Up!

child-1267510_640While my editor is reading my first draft of To Have and To Howl, I thought it was a good time to try something new. So I bought dictation software. I finally bit the bullet and decided to try it after hearing other authors rave about dictation. They said it helped with productivity, and it was healthier because they didn’t have to sit and type at the computer.

I’ve been using the software for a couple of days now, and one of the things I found out rather quickly is that you need to be patient. And that is something that I’m not very good at. Another thing that I’ve learned is that I’m teaching myself how to rethink as I write. What I mean by that is that when I type, in some respects, I’m using muscle memory. With dictation, I have to think through my mouth…so to speak – LOL

I have to remind myself that when I first learned to type it was a slow process and now I do it without thinking. So I hope the same thing can be said about the dictation software once I get used to it. So far, it’s been an interesting ride. As a matter fact, I am writing my blog tonight with the software. My cat Dylan is sitting next to me meowing and the software keeps asking me to repeat what I’m saying 🙂

If I don’t watch him closely, he’ll be using my computer and dictating emails to his cat friends! I’ll let you guys know how it goes as I get more used to hearing myself tell my stories out loud.

The picture I’ve included is a representation of me working on my dictation software. Except I don’t have red hair, and the headset I’m using isn’t pink, and I’m not a doll, but you get the idea!

2 thoughts on “Speak Up!

  1. I love the cat sending e-mails. I tried it awhile ago, then got a new computer and never set it up. It did take a bit of time for the computer to use to your phrasing. Good luck with it.

Leave a Reply

