A New Beginning

road-368719_640For most of us, the idea of a new beginning is uplifting and refreshing. I mean, who doesn’t want to be able to start again? I’ll give you a little hint…

Authors.

One of the hardest things an author writes is the beginning of a story. The cursor blinks on a blank page and you have to type words, and not just any words. Words that tell an engaging story right off the bat with characters that you want to love in a world that the reader wants to spend time in. Not an easy task.

What is even worse than writing the beginning? Re-writing the beginning. Yep, you write the first chapter and as the story unfolds you go back and read it again and then you think…huh, maybe that beginning isn’t strong enough.

And you begin at the beginning AGAIN.

That’s what I’ve been doing with the wedding planner book I’ve been working on. I realized (with the help of a writer-friend) that while there are some gems in those early scenes, they’re gems that would be better used later in the book.

So I’m sitting in front of my blank page, cursor blinking and I’m introducing my characters in a new way. And I’ll keep doing that until I get it right. That’s what authors do.

4 thoughts on “A New Beginning

  1. Truth? I LOVE the beginning. Even when I have to write it more than once. 🙂 There’s so much promise. The book is still fun and exciting and I’m nowhere near the saggy middle, which I definitely do not love. Good luck with your story!

  2. I feel your pain. I never seem to get past that first chapter. As with you, write and rewrite, and rewrite again. Never think it’s good enough. You’ll find the right chemistry and knock out a home run.

Leave a Reply

