Clean Sweep

diet-1079449_640Every year between Christmas and New Year’s I get the urge to CLEAN. I capitalize the word because it’s not my normal house cleaning. Nope. It’s more of a purging of the old to get ready for the new. I usually go through my pantry and my clothes closet to get rid of items that have expired (and that word can be used for both my food and my clothing 🙂 ).

This year I’ve rolled my sleeves WAY UP past my elbows and have been going through all my closets, drawers, cabinets, etc. Some of the items I found were still in a box from when I moved into my home several years ago! Yep, time for those items to go. There is something cathartic about getting rid of items that we no longer need or use. In some instances, these items can be used by someone else and in other instances, they are destined for the dump. But when I get done with the process, I feel lighter and ready to tackle the new year.

The same can be said for writing. You have to mentally move past some of your old stories to make room for new. Now, before you get too upset, I will be writing more stories about the characters in the Mind Sweeper universe, however I’m taking a little break from that to head into a new world of fun, paranormal characters. So this week, I’m cleaning out my brain too. It’s a lot more cluttered than my house, but I think it will be worth it in the end.

2016 here we come!

One thought on “Clean Sweep

  1. I envy your initiative. I am such a clutterholic, I wouldn’t know where to begin. It’s good to start fresh on a new story or series, but we will miss your Mind Sweeper characters if you are gone too long. Happy New Year.

Leave a Reply

