Why I Write

It’s hard to believe that a week has already passed since I released Sentinel Lost on September 21st. It has been CRAZY. I have been a tweeting, posting, and blogging fool over the past week. And of course, Mind Sweeper celebrated its one year anniversary as well which prompted me to reduce its price to 99 cents. So not only was I busy marketing Sentinel Lost, I was also chattering about Mind Sweeper as well.

Am I a little worn out? Yes.

Was it worth it? Definitely.

After all the hoopla, I thought I would share with you one of my favorite moments of the week. On September 20th, the morning before Sentinel Lost was to go live, I received a Facebook post from a reader who excitedly told me that my book had just downloaded to her e reader. I stared at the message in confusion and a little bit of worry. How had she gotten the book already? Had I accidentally put the wrong release date on the retail sites? Had the book been released by accident?

A few moments later, as if she anticipated my confusion, another post arrived from her. She told me that it was September 21st, 12:28 AM in Adelaide, Australia where she lived. And my brain finally caught up with the obvious. Time zones… I should have known better, really. The next country after the US where I sell the most books is Australia. Yay, Australia!

But it was the next part of her message that really hit me. Even though it was 12:28 AM, there was no way she was missing reading this book, as she put it, “straight away.”

And I stared at that message for a moment and then I laughed with delight and just as quickly the tears came. Happy, happy tears. I had someone half way around the world staying up to read my book in the middle of the night.

What a high. I don’t know when the last time was that I laughed and cried at the same time. And it clicked for me. THAT is why I write. THAT is why the hard work is so worth it to me. THAT is what I need to hang onto when I am tired, or stuck on a book, or frustrated with the business of writing. When I first started writing, I wanted to tell stories and SHARE them with people. And it appears that I am doing just that.

I HEART Australia!
I HEART Australia!

 

2 thoughts on “Why I Write

Leave a Reply

