She Loves Me, She Loves Me Not…An Author’s Dilemma

?Have I intrigued you? My post today is not about the heroine’s plight of whether she loves the hero or not (even though that would be a fun post). Instead, it is about the relationship an author has with her manuscript. And yes, there are times when I am truly in a ‘loves me not’ state. Currently, book 5 has gone for second edits to my wonderful editor. I sent it to her today, after I had read it…again. Twice in the past week, actually.

And that’s when the ‘not love’ can rear its ugly head. Look at it this way…It’s like spending time with the same person in a small space. After awhile you start to notice their idiosyncrasies that were endearing to you in the beginning, but are now starting to grate on your nerves. And for an author, that is a precarious place to be in because you don’t want to change something in your book just because it’s the tenth time you’ve read it.

When that happens to me, I have to STEP AWAY FROM THE MANUSCRIPT. Even if it’s for a couple of hours. If I don’t, I could do more damage than good. And what makes it even more scary for me is that I write funny. When I’m in that ugly place, NOTHING is funny anymore. The first time you hear a joke you laugh, right? And maybe the next time your hear the same joke…but the fifth time? Right. I have to remember that the funny is STILL funny.

Ultimately, the person picking up the book for the first time is going to read it with fresh eyes. That’s what I keep in mind. Next week, when my editor sends me 2nd edits, I will be able to once again smile, cheer, and cry along with the characters. Because when it comes down to it, the journey to finishing the book is fraught with emotion, but when I pluck the final petal from the flower it will ALWAYS end with ‘she loves me’.

2 thoughts on “She Loves Me, She Loves Me Not…An Author’s Dilemma

Leave a Reply

