Picture This!

So what have I been doing this past week? Trying to have a new author picture taken so that I can send it to RWA®. They have asked for a photo that can be used on their website and as part of the promotions surrounding the RITA® awards.  And like 99.9 percent of the population I hate having my picture taken. This week has not been different in this regard.

I have had several photos taken with cameras and phones and I stare at these photos and see a smile that is too big in one photo and scrunched in another, eyes that bug in the first and then squint in the second.  And please don’t get me started on all the ‘laugh lines’ that are glaringly apparent.

Cameras don’t lie. Or… maybe they do to a certain extent.

Let’s face it. We are not natural when we pose for a picture. A staged picture does not capture personality, it captures what we want others to see.

Like a character I might develop for a story. A good character is much more than their physical description. They are a combination of ticks, foibles, actions, emotions. A good character allows us to experience them as one would a friend (or enemy). We are able to embrace their personality, to feel their motivation and understand why they do what they do. We might not agree with it every time, but we understand why they did it.

A picture is not three-dimensional, which is why so many of us don’t like our picture taken. And that means we don’t want our characters to be one or two-dimensional either. Give us some depth!

Now after all this picture angst, I have settled on a new photo that you can see on my About Me page by clicking HERE.

Phew…another item checked off of my ‘to do’ list!

2 thoughts on “Picture This!

Leave a Reply

