Plans are Meant to Change

As the holidays descend upon us and we prepare for a new year, there are a lot of things I want to get done. And since I am a bit of an overachiever (who, me?) I have a tight timeline to check these items off my list. So tonight when I got home and sat down in front of my computer, the last thing I was expecting was for my internet to stop working (insert expletive here). A call to my internet provider and troubleshooting through the phone concluded that my router had died (insert worse expletive here). So I hopped into my car, went to the store, came home, and set up my spanking-new router which is now allowing me to post my weekly blog.

This is a drawn-out way of getting my point across. I’m a writer, so you do realize I’m going to tell a story in order to make a point, right?

The point is that you have to be willing to roll with the punches. I think that is an important thing to remember at this time of year. Not everything is going to work exactly like you want it to and you have to be willing to change. This is especially true as an author and as an indie publisher. What you think might work, doesn’t. Or maybe it used to work six months ago, but doesn’t work now. Being willing to try new things and grow as a writer makes the odds of success increase in your (my) favor.

So next year besides releasing a new series, I will also look at new ways to communicate with you, my followers. And when I get some of these ideas solidified, you will be the first to know.

In the meantime, remember that lists change, people change, writers change, readers change…heck everything changes. So don’t stress over change. Roll with the punches.

 

Leave a Reply

