A Writer’s Surreal Moments

Now that I have been officially published for over a month (yahoo), I thought I would share some of my experiences so far. In many ways they have been amazing and surreal at the same time.

I finally have people who are not my immediate family and friends reading my books. And they are rooting for my characters as much as I do. To my surprise (or maybe not since I love him too) I have a large number of fans who love, love, love my pastry-eating, tv-addicted, Shamat demon, Misha. Who would have thunk it?

And I have had people tell me, or write in reviews that they couldn’t put the book down…that they stayed up late into the night reading…that they can’t wait until the next book. And I am humbled by their responses. Because I have been that excited reader lost in a world that I don’t want to emerge from. And now I have been lucky enough to share my world with others.

Recently, a writer friend of mine texted me as she was reading one of my books. She kept typing ‘LOL’ and then she would quote one of my lines. Talk about weird. Having your own lines quoted back to you.

Yesterday I went to a meeting and ran into a fellow writer who pulled out her kindle from her purse, turned it on and said.” Look what I was reading before I went to bed last night.” And she showed me my book. I smiled as butterflies fluttered in my stomach.

And my biggest surreal moment so far? This past weekend, I had my Halloween costume party which has become an annual ritual in my neighborhood. And over the years, my neighbors have come up with some amazingly creative costumes. So this year, when one of my neighbors showed up at my door with a plastic brain on her head and a small vacuum cleaner tied around her neck, I racked my brain (no pun intended) trying to figure out what she was. All I could come up with was ‘brain-sucker’. Lame, I know, but hello, she had a plastic brain sitting on top of her head.

And then my other neighbors showed up, looked at her and announced, “Oh my God, you’re a Mind Sweeper.” And I screamed and hugged her which was awkward since 1) I should have been able to figure out the costume and 2) she still had the vacuum cleaner hanging around her neck.

And I was humbled. To have my work inspire a Halloween costume! Wow. Needless to say, she won the costume contest this year, and I didn’t even have to stuff the ballot box.

So this is my surreal list after my first month as a published author. I know that the list will grow and I will share more with you as time goes on. And of course, I want to thank all of you for giving me and Kyle’s story a chance…so surreal.

Leave a Reply

