Step Away from the Manuscript!

I am at a monumental place in my self-pub process. I equate it to a Mama Bird pushing her baby out of the nest for the first time. I am sending my Mind Sweeper manuscript to a formatter to prepare it for both the digital and print formats needed to publish my book.

I should be ecstatic, right? I am one step closer to my dream and when I have these formatted files back in my grubby little hands, I can then start sending them out as preliminary review copies in preparation for my release in early fall. It sounds like a logical plan all the way around. And it should, says my logical, business woman persona.

So why am I breaking out into a cold sweat at the thought?

All of my already-published author friends are chuckling at me right now. Because they have been through this themselves. They have finished multiple rounds of edits and proofed their books until they want to scream when they look at it ONE MORE TIME.

But as a perfectionist, I do not know if I will EVER feel like my book is perfect and ready to go. And that is my FIRST mistake. There is no such thing as perfection in writing. I can write the best daggone book I can and edit the snot out of it and someone will find something wrong with it. And I have to let that go. Ultimately, the pleasure I hope to give my readers has to propel me forward. Otherwise, I can continue to tweak and tweak a book but if no one is allowed to read it, then what is the point?

So I am unwrapping the death grip I have around this manuscript and stepping away from it slowly. It is time to let my baby bird flap its wings for the first time.

Fly baby fly.

 

 

10 thoughts on “Step Away from the Manuscript!

  1. Be strong babe, you have to trust in yourself. You’ve worked hard to get where you are. It’ll be wonderful. You have to put down the eraser and stop tweaking. Send your baby out in the world, and let the rest of us enjoy the spoils of your hard work. Can’t wait.

  2. Yeah, what Barb said. I was going to say basically the same thing. You’ve been very smart about the self-publishing process. Not just throwing that baby bird out before it’s ready to fly. I would love/ be honored to read Mind Sweeper for review. Go AE ! You rock.

Leave a Reply

