Calling my Inner Tortoise

We interrupt this regularly scheduled blog to say ‘hi’ to those of you who are visiting my site for the first time. If you found me by clicking on the link on my very talented writer-friend and fellow Golden Heart ® sister, Amy DeLuca’s blog, welcome. Or if you found me another way, welcome. Or if you’ve been following me for a while, thanks, and the check is in the mail 😉

Take a look around. I write a weekly blog about my writing process. This year it’s all about my self-pub journey. I hope you find my site useful. Now…on to my newest revelation.

Last week I talked about working on edits. never-ending edits. But this week I’m going to spend some time on attitude. My attitude to be exact and how it needs to be flexible for this self-pub journey. As many of you are aware, I am a teensy-bit high-strung. Some might say it is type-A personality, others might actually say triple-type-A personality. But whatever you call it, it is one of the reasons why I decided to self-publish my Mind Sweeper series. And while my personality can and does help lead me down the path, I have to remember that if I speed down the highway like a maniac, I’m going to miss the sights and signs along the way.

2014-06-01 20.24.24So I’m going to equate this process to the age-old parable, the tortoise and the hare. My personality definitely lends itself to the hare (or rabbit for those of you wondering what the heck I am talking about). And I came to the conclusion this week that I have to listen to my ‘inner tortoise’ too. One of my mantras this year has been BE PATIENT. And it is important for a reason. Each step to self-publication is actually a series of sub-steps (refer to my earlier blog, ‘Order in the Court…’ if you need an idea of what I mean here). I can’t expect to rush through this process. And I started to lose sight of that this past week, until Thursday night rolled around and I sat in front of my computer mumbling to myself about all the things I need to get done and not having enough hours in the day. 

So what did I do, you ask? I shut down my computer and backed away from it, slowly. And I relaxed. The next day it was time to regroup, rethink, and make a list checking it twice, no three times (sorry Santa, didn’t mean to one-up you, but I can’t help myself sometimes). Now if you have been following me, you know that I am a list maker, but this time on my new list I wrote down REALISTIC dates of when I could accomplish my steps to publication. And then I stopped breathing in a paper bag (a hypothetical paper bag, but you get my meaning).  

All in all I slowed down in this race so that I can make sure I get it right. Because, is this really a race to begin with? And I have to remind myself that it’s okay when the tortoise needs to take over…or in the very least when the bunny needs a sedative!

2 thoughts on “Calling my Inner Tortoise

  1. Glad you’re slowing down to enjoy the view and take stock of how very far you’ve already come!
    While I am anxiously awaiting Kyle’s book, I don’t want you to get burned out. So I’ll practice patience and not ask you when Mind Sweeper will be released. (At least not too often)
    Di

Leave a Reply

