Blurb Vote, Take 2 (when a picture is just a picture)

Last week I posted my blurb for Mind Sweeper and waited for comments, likes, what have you. And guess what?

Nothing happened.

As the days passed, my emotions rollercoastered (not sure that is a real word, but it works here). At first I sat in front of my computer holding my breath for my followers’ reactions. And then I got a like for my blog. Eureka! The comments were going to pour in, I just knew it. Then silence reigned again, except for the figurative crickets chirping in the distance.

Now self-doubt crept in (it is never far away, you know) and started taunting me. Maybe your blurb is so bad that people don’t want to tell me the truth??? Forget that it was a holiday week and people were busy and out of town…forget that I posted this on a Sunday morning when many people are out to church and brunch and enjoying the warm (finally) weather…I automatically jumped to the worst conclusion.

And instead of continuing to talk to myself (cause I have a tendency to do that when self-doubt is around) I decided to actually ask some people what they thought.

So off I went on my mission. Did you see my blurb? What did you think?

Several of them (you) said. Yes I saw you blurb. I tried to vote, but it wouldn’t let me.

And here was my MISTAKE. You all (rightly so) thought you could click on the yes/no boxes like a poll and it would total the results. But here’s the thing. The picture of the voting ticket on last week’s blog was just that – a picture. It did not allow you to vote. And I take the blame for that. Here I was, trying to be cutesy and have a voting ticket picture and I assumed you all could read my mind and knew you had to respond by comment (blog) or like (Facebook).

Reminder to self: kick Cutesy to the curb.

So mea culpa, my followers. I am sorry I confused you and had you clicking repeatedly on a picture that did nothing but frustrate you. I feel bad for that which is why I am ‘confessing my error’.

So I will try this one more time. Below I have posted my blurb again and have also created an ACTUAL poll that you can vote this time. Give it another whirl and let me know what you think. And don’t worry, if for some reason the poll doesn’t work right, I won’t write a Blurb Vote, Take 3 blog. I’ll just make the results up (I am an author who lives most of the time in a fictional world after all). 

Here is the blurb reveal…and then vote below (no really, I am not punking you. It is a poll this time) 

An angel, a demon and a vampire walk into a bar. Sounds like the beginning of a bad joke, but it’s just another day in the life of Kyle McKinley.

Kyle was born with the ability to erase memories, and along with her teammates – a vampire who resembles a sexy pirate with fangs, and a Shamat demon with a penchant for Italian pastries – they clean up the supernatural messes left behind. And today’s mess is a whopper. A sword-wielding angel and a demon have a supernatural smackdown during happy hour in a Cleveland bar, resulting in a headless vampire and a dozen human witnesses.

 And this latest supernatural slip-up is drawing all kinds of attention. So much so, that when the police step in, Kyle has to deal with Joe Dalton, a know-it-all human with the sexiest turquoise eyes she has ever seen. He definitely makes her naughty parts sit up and take notice, and it’s more than mutual. But first they must join forces to solve a dangerous puzzle. And when they uncover the truth, the apocalyptic ripple effect could destroy everyone that Kyle has vowed to protect, including Dalton.

12 thoughts on “Blurb Vote, Take 2 (when a picture is just a picture)

  1. So, Amy I was one of those followers who tried to click on the picture LOL :), but I am also a bit behind in my blog reading so I also just commented on the last blog earlier today 🙂 But I voted!

  2. I loved the first part. Great opening line! The last section about hooking up with Joe is great also. The middle section where you describe Kyle’s team leaves me wanting more. What that more is I’m not sure. How they became a team? What are the other team members abilities? Just my two cents worth. Can’t wait to read it.

  3. Hi Amy, yes I enjoyed your blurb. We want to see the real thing. Though not usually a paranormal reader, I am slowly embracing the genre.

    1. Patience my dear friend. I am glad you are willing to look toward the paranormal, I don’t think you’ll be disappointed. There are a bunch of great writers out there.

  4. A.E – I think your blurb is sharp, funny and intriguing, which is the perfect snapshot of the book. Where can I sign up for my early copy!?

  5. For the most part, I like it 🙂 My 2 cents? “…supernatural messes left behind. (by whom?) / rather than “…resulting in a headless vampire…” how about “leaving behind” since the story now puts them on the trail of the culprits. This suggests moving and new locations and the search… / I’m getting a sense that this will be a humorous and “spicy” story. I’m making the assumption that the “sexy pirate” is a male, if there is some sort of “thing” between him and Kyle, could that be hinted at in the blurb? I’m not getting a sense of what Kyle’s “growth” or “character” challenge will be. That might also trigger interest in a potential reader. Thank you for reading. I’m off now to look up what a Shamat demon is (male, female, beast?) –Tyler

    1. Tyler – thanks soooo much for the suggestions. They are all great and I am still tweaking the blurb since I also got some other comments back on it as well. I will definitely take some of your examples and see if they work.

Leave a Reply

