Too Many Eggs in One Basket

So my followers, I left you last week with the wonderful image of comparing my self-pub journey to that of an excited child just before the whistle blows for an Easter egg hunt. If you will forgive me, I plan to expand a bit on this metaphor since it works for where I am at this moment. Picture this…

It is now after the hunt and my basket is overflowing with plastic eggs. Which egg should I open first? Each one has a different surprise inside. Each small toy or piece of candy wrapped in shiny paper calls to me, “Pick me first! No, pick me first!”

Easter-Egg-Basket

Why is this image so befitting my emotional state this week? Because I am still in the research stage (which I have realized will NEVER completely stop even after I have released my series). There are so many different things to think about on this indie expedition. And it can be VERY overwhelming.

I am reading several self-pub books right now (If you are looking to do the same, search on self-publication on your e-pub sites.) as well as plowing through indie-loops. You can find these loops by simply googling for ‘self-pub loops’ or ‘self-pub romance loops’ etc. Also, don’t be afraid to ask questions of author-friends who are further down this path than you. 

Each nugget of information I gather from these different sources is wrapped in a shiny wrapper and seems as important as the last. So what do I do? Much as the excited child does at Easter, I begin opening the candy and eating it as fast as I can. Well, you can imagine what that does to me.

Information OVERLOAD. Stomach hurting, head swirling, I wonder if this is too much for me. And then I step back and take a deep breath. Remember, I have a new mantra this year and it will be what I repeat over and over to myself when I start to waver – BE FEARLESS!

Here is the other cool thing about self-pubbing, I am the boss. So I can decide how long this journey is going to take. One step at a time. It is time to concentrate on one aspect of self-publication and learn what I can before moving on to the next. I can do this.

I am going to open the yellow egg first and see what is inside. Savor it for a moment before reaching for the lavender egg that looks so enticing.

So tell me about what is overwhelming you in your writing life. I promise a sympathetic ear and no pop-psychology answers…cause then I would have to charge you and you couldn’t afford my hourly rate! 😉

4 thoughts on “Too Many Eggs in One Basket

  1. I have found the same to be true since I have also decided I am not waiting forever to publish, whether traditionally or self, It is all very overwhelming. I have come to the conclusion, though, it will be wonderful — this Journey we are on! Continue to BE FEARLESS!

Leave a Reply

