Fix the Flow

So I got myself into a bit of a quandary, my followers. I am writing a series (aren’t I always ūüėČ ) and I changed the end of the first book. Normally this wouldn’t be much of an issue, except that I already have the second book written! UGHHHHH…

Now I have to rework the beginning of the second book so that it works with the first. Oh why do I do this to myself? Luckily a friend of mine¬†gave me a good idea that I will be using to ‘fix the flow’ as I call it. Whether writing a series of books or a novella, if the story doesn’t flow then you are stuck with a bunch of disjointed scenes. The work needs cohesion and must logically move forward so that the reader can follow along. This doesn’t mean that there can’t be surprises along the way, but they have to make sense in the story and match the characters and motivation. Yes characters should grow and change or else the reader becomes bored, but they have to do it in a way this makes sense.

faucet-running-water_fullFor example, if your heroine defeats the bad guy by beating him up, then she better have a background in law enforcement, the military or martial arts. And the reader needs to know this! How to build conflict with this? How about if your heroine freezes in the face of danger because of a previous trauma suffered in the field? We (the reader) knows that she has the ABILITY to fight the bad guy, but can’t seem to face her fears until the end when the bad guy threatens the man she loves? Do you see what I mean?¬†

As writers¬†the¬†first drafts we write may lack flow. We concentrate on a particular scene or plot point and write these in pieces.¬†It isn’t until later when we read the whole story over that we find the gaps.¬†Then we have to patch and correct scenes so that they move one into the next. In other words, we have to ‘go with the flow’. (Sorry couldn’t help myself with that one).

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Fix the Flow

  1. I had a Book 2 written and a Book 3 plotted and then Book 1 underwent some major, almost violent changes. I’m happy with where Book 1 is, but good gracious did it cause a quandary with the plots of future books. That’s actually what I’m struggling with now while prepping for NaNoWriMo. So you’re not alone my friend. I think we all go through it. ūüôā

Leave a Reply

