Writing for the Joy of It

So my followers I think I lost my way a bit on this writing path that I am on. What do I mean?  Well many of you have been following me since my Golden Heart ® final and subsequent win and it was an awesome, action-packed few months. Now I am sending out my manuscripts(s) and looking for an agent/editor to work with me. This calls for patience which is in utter opposition of what the earlier part of the year entailed.

I was feeling a bit down in the dumps the other day and one of my friends gave me a pep talk that made me stop and think about my writing. He asked me WHY I started writing. It wasn’t to become a NY Times bestseller or even to get published, or to write x amount of words or pages per day. Ultimately the answer of WHY I write is because I love it. It brings me joy. When I wrote my first book (which is now under my bed) I was excited as the story unfolded. My books often play themselves out in my head like a movie. When I wrote my GH Manuscript it poured from my fingertips and I laughed and cried along with my characters. I was happy and couldn’t wait to create those stories.

2013-09-23 12.40.00And without meaning to, my friend gave me a much-needed kick in the pants. Yes, I want to be published. Yes, I know that when that happens I will word counts to complete and edits to make on tight deadlines. And yes, who wouldn’t want to see their book on a best-sellers list? But if I lose the joy I have when I write, then what exactly is the point? If I lose the joy then it becomes a ‘job’ and I mean that in a very negative way.

So tonight when I sit down in front of my laptop and stare at the blinking cursor, I will write for the joy of it. And that emotion will carry through my characters and scenes and will reverberate with my readers. That is what I want ultimately from my writing.

One thought on “Writing for the Joy of It

Leave a Reply

