Appreciation Day

So today at work is appreciation day. We are celebrating it by having a cookout, speeches and games. And it got me thinking about appreciation and what it really means. Well, the smart aleck answer (which I would never give you) is the following:

According to Miriam Webster (m-w.com), the verb appreciate is defined as follows : to understand the worth or importance of (something or someone) : to admire and value (something or someone) : to be grateful for (something).

But the non-sarcastic part of me thinks not so much about the definition, but WHAT I have to appreciate. If I look at today, I can appreciate a free lunch, camaraderie and the fact that the rain held off for our outdoor picnic. Oh yeah, it’s Friday – I definitely appreciate that!

But in larger terms I appreciate what I have been given and I don’t mean monetarily. Even as a writer I have a hard time truly expressing what I have in my life that gives me joy – so here goes… My friends – work friends, writer friends, personal friends – (all of whom are crazy), my parents and even my brother (although I am loathe to admit that 😉 ). My sister-in-law and my nieces and nephew. My stubborn 98-year-old Grandmother. My extended family – aunts, uncles, cousin, etc (also crazier then a bunch of bedbugs – not sure where that saying comes from, I made need to research it further).

And if I look inside myself I need to admit that there are things I appreciate about me. Now this is hard for anyone to admit and not sound a bit egotistical, but I’m going to give it a try.

I appreciate my sense of humor which helps me get through life. I appreciate my brain (although sometimes I wish it would shut down for a while and let me chill). I appreciate my creative side that lets me write stories of people and creatures who save the world on a daily basis. But I also appreciate my analytical side since it helps me stay grounded in the face of my creative side!

So think about who and what you appreciate today. Go on, I know you can do it.

One last appreciation – I appreciate you, my followers, for sticking with me as I blog about my writing (or in some cases non-writing) life. Thanks!

4 thoughts on “Appreciation Day

  1. Life is too short. I appreciate the sunshine, the flowers and all those who appreciate same. There is too much darkness in the world, too much hate. I appreciate LOVE. Not just in my writing, my family and friends, but those who love others, who can live side by side in acceptance. I appreciate waking up each day.

  2. I appreciate that you can write a mighty fine blog, AE! A blog that gives me the boost I needed today to just smile 🙂 and say, my life is hectic and tiring, but it is also a great life and I appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

