The Path of Least Resistance

It’s Friday night and I am sitting out on my front porch (more like a stoop, but it is big enough for my white rocking chair which I am perched in). When I looked down at my curved sidewalk, for some reason ‘the path of least resistance’ popped into my head. Why, I don’t know.

Maybe it is because I had a REALLY busy (and stressful) week at work or maybe it is because I still do not feel good after a week of a cold/sinus/allergy/who knows malady.

Today I had a coworker ask me about my next steps to being published. And I explained that I am sending out my manuscripts and working toward that goal. For those of us who have NOT yet broken into the ranks of the published with crazy deadlines for edits more and edits and ARCs and marketing and blog tours and release day, the business of publishing can be incredibly slow – as in snail’s pace slow. And like the authors before me, I am working to better my craft and send out my work so that I can publish these stories that play in my head (sometimes 24×7).

Writers can not afford to take the path of least resistance. If we did, we would NEVER be published.

You can’t take the path of least resistance and actually work your butt off by finishing that first manuscript. And it doesn’t end there – then it is time to edit. Editing can not ever be in the same sentence with ‘least resistance’. And don’t get me started about rejection. If writers took the least path, they would never send out anything after that first rejection.

 I read somewhere that an extremely famous writer (the one who basically got kids to start reading again) was rejected 37 times by agents before one accepted her. What if she had taken the path of least resistance? I know I would have mourned the loss of her books.

So I tell myself each word I type, each story I finish, each scene I edit and each rejection I receive that my path may not be easy, but it is a journey that I am willing to take.

2013-09-06 19.16.57

2 thoughts on “The Path of Least Resistance

  1. Excellent points, AE! Sometimes I wonder if I’m just bull-headed or maybe flat out delusional – but every time I think about quitting, I get depressed. Well, more depressed than I get when I get rejections!!! At least the rejection based ‘depression’ lasts about ten minutes. Usually.

    Another thought about the path of least resistance: Water takes it, then, over time,carves its own path through stone.

    Either way you think about it, it works. 🙂 Have a better week!

    Smiles,
    Leslie

Leave a Reply

