The Mood of Labor Day Weekend

Advice to self – don’t wait to write your blog until a Friday evening that kicks off a three-day weekend! My brain has shut down (almost).

So you may be wondering what the heck I mean by the ‘mood’ of Labor Day. Well Labor Day is of course about cookouts and celebrating with friends and family. Warm weather and pool parties come to mind as well.

But the holiday holds a hint of desperation. For those of us who do not live in warm climates, Labor Day is our final hurrah. We ask ourselves, “Where did the summer go?” as children head back to school and our daily commutes become longer (doggone school buses). Labor Day is our last chance to grab onto the few warm days we have left before we burrow in for the fall and winter. 

Now don’t get me wrong, I love fall and will wax poetic about it at some point in the next two months, but summer holds a special place in my heart as well. When I put my sandals away in the next few weeks I may shed a few tears. There is something laid back and relaxing about summer and that is definitely lost when the days grow short and you scrape ice off of your car windows while losing sensation in your fingers!

As a writer I think mood plays a huge role in your work. A scene CONVEYS mood. Yes, I know that it is more than that. You are wanting to move the story along and have your character change as your scenes unfold, but mood plays a part in this. Scenes can be uproariously funny or poignant (really good writers can sometimes coney both). They can be angst-ridden or terrifying. They can piss us off, make us cry like babies, or shout from the mountaintops. That is the power of mood in a book.

Each day we wake up in a certain mood, and those feelings will change throughout the day. So it makes sense that emotions are the crux of a story and allow the reader to get sucked into the story. Ultimately that is what we are looking for, right?

>>> My father planted giant sunflowers in his garden. Below is a picture of one of his flowers. It is over 7 feet tall! I was looking up at this as I took the picture <<<2013-08-30 18.58.49

 

Leave a Reply

