I Had a Golden Scene Day!

2013-08-05 18.23.55Okay – so you are probably wondering why I have a picture of me with my arms thrown out in glee…I call it one of my Julie Andrews’ moments. You remember in the movie The Sound of Music when she runs through the beautiful backdrop and sings ‘The Hills are Alive with the Sound of Music’? Even though I am not on a hilltop and I am not singing, I am still very happy because I had a golden scene day this weekend.

What is a golden scene? Well I alluded to it in Friday’s blog, ‘The Emotions of Writing’. There are times when a scene will flow from you as if by magic. It doesn’t happen often, but when it does it feeds the need to continue writing. It can be equated to a junkie’s (in this case writer’s) ‘fix’. Adrenaline pumps, giggles erupt and you type like a wild person pushing away all of the bad memories in the past when that blankety-blank cursor mocked you and you pace your living room torturing yourself instead of writing.

The golden scene included my heroine who is trying to tell her best friend that they are surrounded by paranormal. Needless to say, her friend goes on a completely different tangent as she so often does and ridiculousness ensues.

For me, this golden scene was a funny one, as in laugh out loud and shake your head at the wonder of the moment. Is it bad for me to admit I laugh at my own work? I write funny, even though my subject matter overall can be quite serious. I grew up in a family who believes that humor can cure-all kinds of ills. So it makes sense that my writing is much the same way. Afterall, isn’t life about experiencing everything it has to offer? Why not face it head on with a smile on your face?

 

One thought on “I Had a Golden Scene Day!

Leave a Reply

