GH day 95 redo – aka ‘So-Not-a-Vacation-Day Day’

For those of you who have been over on the Firebirds blog visiting with me today I thank you. For those who haven’t been there yet…I’m waiting 😉  To help expedite your trip, I have placed the direct link to the site below so come check it out.

http://www.ghfirebirds.com/2013-gh-finalist-ae-jones/#comment-6416

So why is today NOT a vacation day? Well, in the truest sense of the word it is since I am not at work, but I have been busy, busy, busy. I am checking the Firebirds blog off and on all day (that has been all kinds of fun). I had an eye appointment and I went to the store to pick up some things for my trip and for the July 4th party my parents throw every year. Lo and behold that is next week already!

I broke a tooth and called the dentist’s office and will be going first thing Monday morning to have it looked at. Luckily it is a side tooth so I don’t look like a jack-o-lantern. I also am working on things for Nationals as well, like schedules, blurbs, pitches, research, etc which I’m sure I will expound upon over the next two weeks before I head to the conference.

And this is something that I will need to get used to as I head down the path to publication. Long gone are the days where the author sits in their home office and writes in a vacuum while their agent and publisher take care of everything. Writing is a business. It involves promotion and budgeting and editing and balancing all kinds of spinning plates on top of sticks. Maybe my project management skills from my day job will come in handy after all!

Leave a Reply

