GH day100 – aka ‘Learn How to Count Day’

Are you surprised by today’s subject? Me too! You probably thought that I would celebrate reaching the 100 day milestone, right? Pretty awesome to have written 100 daily blogs…well, as Ricky Ricardo used to say, I have some ‘splainin to do.

So in my ‘brilliance’ I knew that today would technically not be the celebratory day. Why? Because there were two days where I did not post blogs. Day 42 was when I was blogging all day on the Ruby Slippered Sisterhood and many of you visited me there. Day 53 was when I was at my local writer’s conference and was not able to post a blog. So I thought that I would be celebrating my 100th blog two days from now.

But just to be safe, I reviewed all of my blogs to see if I had missed any other day. After all, I wanted the 100th blog celebration to be official, right? Well, imagine my surprise when I looked at my blogs and found that I had jumped from Day 55 to Day 66! Dear Lord, the horror! The humiliation! (How none of you brilliant followers called me on it, I will never know.) So in actuality, today is DAY 90 of this wonderful process. Which means I cannot celebrate my 100th blog for TWELVE MORE DAYS.

So now I am in what I call ‘hurry up and wait mode’. I planned to throw the confetti and hang the streamers, but I was premature. And this is a feeling you can often have as a writer. Let me give you an example. You get a request for a full (meaning an agent of editor wants to read your whole manuscript) and you are elated. It takes a lot of effort to get a full request and you attempt to wait patiently for a response. Now keep in mind that it can take MONTHS before you hear a response back. So there is no planning a party in advance. You wait and you hope and you work on other things so as not to drive yourself and your family and friends crazy!

So in the grand scheme of things twelve more days is a drop in the bucket! Now I just need to figure out how I am going to number my next blog?

 

Leave a Reply

