GH day 76 – aka ‘Why I am a Story Teller Day’

I was thinking today about why I became a writer and it came to me with alarming clarity. I take after my father. Now, he is not a writer per se. But he is an AWESOME story-teller. He has had (and still continues to have) the most interesting life from growing up in the Appalachian Mountains to joining the marines and then becoming a fire fighter and finally fire chief of a small eclectic town. He is now retired but does not seem to be able to stay out of trouble.

Each story he tells is a masterpiece that pulls in his audience. I do not remember a day in my life that I did not laugh at something my dad said or a story he spun. And the best thing is that as he has told and retold his stories over the years they have gotten bigger and better. So it doesn’t surprise me that I have a flair for the dramatic. But for me, my stories begged to be written down. Where my dad’s audience includes friends and family. Mine will (hopefully) be much larger.

Oral stories contain the same aspects of a written story, but must be more concise and pack a punch. They also have to be memorable. My dad’s got all of that covered in his tall tales. So, I learned from a master story-teller and hope over the years to come to carry on the tradition in a slightly different way.

 

Leave a Reply

