GH day 44 – aka ‘Fashion a Pitch Day’

In a previous post (GH day 40) I talked about picking an agent and an editor to pitch to at the RWA ® National Conference. On Monday, I successfully signed up for my two pitch sessions.

Today, I am working on writing my pitches. Now, you may think that this is a BIT premature. I mean after all, the Convention is not until July, right? Well, here’s the deal. My local RWA chapter is having our Conference on May 17th & 18th. During the conference, I will have the opportunity to pitch. Yahoo! So I do need to get my pitches written and polished before next weekend.

What is in a pitch, you ask? Well, you only have a few minutes to ‘sell’ you product – namely your manuscript.

So I need a few lines that give an overview of my story and introduce the two main characters and their conflict. Sounds pretty straight forward, huh? All I have to say to that is BLAHHHHH. If you remember my bemoaning writing a blurb and capturing everything in a few sentences, well it is the same here and what’s worse is that I am SPEAKING these lines to the agent or editor. Again I say BLAHHHHH.

But I will plug away and fashion my pitch. Revise it. Read it again. Revise it. And then let it go. Until I have to practice it – and to that I say (you guessed it) BLAHHHHH.

Don’t worry, I’m sure one of my future posts will be ‘practicing’ my pitch. Stay tuned!

2013-05-08 15.14.33

Leave a Reply

