GH day 41 – aka ‘Promoting Myself Day’

Last week I told you that I would be guest blogging on the Ruby Slippered Sisterhood’s blog (GH day 35). Well the time is here! Well, technically it’s tomorrow, Monday, May 6th. My blog will be posted and I will be answering questions all day, so come visit me at: www.rubyslipperedsisterhood.com

I am honored that the Rubies asked Golden Heart ® finalists to blog this year and I jumped at the opportunity because it helps me get my name out there. Long gone are the days of limo-driven authors traveling to book signings. Newer authors are often responsible for marketing themselves and creating their brand. So for me, as an unpublished author,creating relationships is vital to my success.

Now, don’t think that I am only doing this for myself. Yes, this is a great opportunity to promote, but it is also a great opportunity to meet people. You never know when you will meet your next critique partner or writing buddy. Relationships can’t be one-sided or you won’t be in them for long! So I have to be willing to give to my new-found friends as well as take.

As I blog away on my personal site and visit other sites to (hopefully) impart some wisdom I look at this as the next step in my journey to publication. I hear the words, “follow the yellow brick road” playing in my head, which is pretty appropriate since I get to spend time with ruby slippers on tomorrow!

DP0128201317015429M

Oh, before I forget, I will NOT be blogging tomorrow on my site here since I will be busy, busy, busy on the Ruby blog. Come by and ask me a question….don’t be shy.

Leave a Reply

