GH day 39 – aka ‘All About Me Day’

As part of my scheduled blog next Monday with the Ruby Slippered Sisterhood, I have to provide a little blurb about myself. Now you would think that a few sentences wouldn’t trip up a writer, right? I mean that’s what I do, write! But when you are limited in word count, they need to be powerful. Most authors I know can put thousands of words to the page, but when they have to write a blurb they cringe.

I have a good friend who is a poet. Every word she uses is important to her poem. It carries impact and conveys a mood. How amazing is that? She may write something and then tweak each word, spending hours on a poem that spans half a page.

So how do I convey everything I want to in a few sentences? In the personal blurb I am writing, I want to give an idea of who AE Jones is. Can I provide a glimpse of my personality through my writing? For those of you who have been following me over the past few weeks, you know that I am a very serious person without a sarcastic bone in my body. Right?

(Silence from my thousands of followers)

Okaaaaay so that isn’t true. So I want to convey my humor and a little of my sarcasm too in my blurb.

What else? Maybe how I got the writing bug? When did I first start writing? Why do I write paranormal?  All things to think about in my blurb. See this isn’t easy is it?

Then once I get my ideas down I need to consolidate it into a small paragraph. Then read it and change a word here and there. Marinate on it. Then read it again, making minor changes. Marinate. You get the idea.

So without further ado, here is my blurb that will also be part of the Ruby Blog on Monday. Cue drum roll!

Growing up a TV junkie, AE Jones would oftentimes rewrite endings of episodes in her head when she didn’t like the outcome. She immersed herself in sci-fi and soap operas. But when Buffy hit the little screen (don’t talk to her about the movie, it still gives her nightmares) she knew her true love was paranormal. Now she spends her nights weaving stories about all variation of supernatural – both their angst and their humor. After all life is about both…whether you sport fangs or not.

 There you go – What do you think?

P.S. No picture today – since the blog is ‘all about me’ click on my About Me page and check out my smiling picture….

2 thoughts on “GH day 39 – aka ‘All About Me Day’

Leave a Reply

