GH day 38 – aka ‘Business Cards Take Two Day’

2013-05-02 12.54.56

Yes, you read it right. I am going to try to do this again – order business cards and NOT want to burn them when I receive them!

So here I go again – I am in editing hell even when it comes to business cards. But I suck in a deep breath and persevere. I have a new format picked out that will hopefully market me (the writer) a little better than the first one.

It is amazing how each little detail matters – color, picture or no, info on card….right now I am trying to pick out the right font. All of this to convey a message of what AE Jones is really about. Can a font do that? Maybe, or maybe my OCD has finally pushed me over the edge.

But that brings up a good question (no, not about my OCD). Do details matter?  In yesterday’s blog  I wrote about letting a character get under your skin. So yes details matter. For the character, I see this in a description, or better yet their mannerisms or quirks. We attach ourselves to ‘real characters’ not someone who is perfect and glides through the book with no problem and in effect no changing or growth. I bet you won’t make it to the end if that is the case. It is boring and unattainable and not challenging. In other words, a yawn fest.

So how do you make this happen? Spend some time with your character.

  • What do they look like?
  • What quirks do they have? Mannerisms?
  • What car do they drive? Or if they live in the city, how do they get around?
  • Where do they live? Describe their surroundings?
  • Do they have a particular piece of jewelry that they always wear?
  • What is their biggest fear?
  • What holds them back from connecting with the other main character? (romance)

And these are just a few examples of character questions. Keep in mind that all of the answers to the questions above may not appear in the actual pages of the book, but it helps round out your character.

Remember that your reader wants to understand your character so that they can become a part of the story. This works for the ‘bad guy’ too. Isn’t the antagonist so much more interesting if we know WHY they are doing what they do? If they are a 2-dimensional character then we don’t understand motivation. Pull the reader inside their psyche. Some of the best antagonists are the ones that haven’t always been bad but circumstances pushed them too far. We sympathize, but we don’t excuse their actions.

So as I finalize the details on my card to convey who I am, I remember to do the same for my characters in the pages of my manuscript. Details matter.

Leave a Reply

