Tis the Night Before the Golden Heart…again!

Last year on this day, I wrote a post in anticipation of hearing if I was a finalist in the Golden Heart contest. And I am back yet again…waiting to hear the results for this year. The Golden Heart contest is a national competition sponsored by Romance Writers of America (RWA). As an unpublished author, you can submit your work and have it judged in one of the categories (historical, contemporary, suspense, paranormal, etc).  If you final in your category – wow, hot damn and all that – you get your name out there in front of agents and publishers and that is what we are all looking for!

The winners of each category are announced at the national meeting in July. I attended nationals two years ago and the awards ceremony felt like the Academy Awards to me. It was amazing! The room was chock-full of thousands of writers. The finalists were announced for each category and then the winner was called on stage and did an acceptance speech! What an honor. I can only imagine what that would be like. Actually as a writer, I have the whole scene plotted out in my head already – positive thinking and all that!

So by tomorrow at 3 pm est, I will know if I am a finalist or not. Fingers and toes crossed everyone….

 

Leave a Reply

