I am Definitely a Night Person

moon

When someone tells me that they get up at five in the morning to exercise, or bake, or clean, or God knows what else I am in awe. I mean how can someone function at full capacity that early in the morning?

For me, sleeping ALWAYS wins out over most things. If I didn’t have to go to work and pay for my mortgage, food and spoiled cats, I would not get up as early as I do now. I have to be to work at eight, so I shove out of bed around twenty after seven and am out the door by seven-forty so that I pull into the parking lot (sometimes on two wheels)at eight.

This goes for my writing as well (not the tire squealing part…well actually I have written car chases before so that’s not true). I write at night. In some respects this is due to my ‘day job’, but I find that I am much more creative later in the day. I get a second wind and my fingers fly over the keyboards just about the time I turn the lights on.

Being a night person is appropriate for me since I write paranormal. Should I really be writing about things that go bump in the night first thing in the morning? I mean, that’s when vamps would singe in the sun and you don’t see many werewolves going hairy at sunrise, right?

So maybe I was destined to write when the sun goes down.

2 thoughts on “I am Definitely a Night Person

  1. I’m a night person too, although last summer when I overhauled my novel, I was up every morning by 5:30. It practically killed me, but it was the only time available. (Staying up later meant interruptions, whereas nobody interrupted me at 5:30, lol). It is possible to do morning person activities. But not easy by any means. I’m trying to regather some of that summer motivation now, since the best I can do is 6:30-7ish.

    But for paranormal, it seems utterly appropriate to be writing at night. 😉

    1. I so know what you mean. I work my writing around my day job so I do what I have to do, but man it is hard in the morning on me. But I’ll do it if it helps me get published! Keep plugging away on your stuff too.

Leave a Reply

