Why Donald Maass did NOT disappoint

I traveled to Columbus, OH over the weekend to attend a workshop with Donald Maass who runs the Donald Maass Literary Agency. I had heard people rave about his workshops, so much so, that I braved January weather in Ohio to attend. But I also went into the day with some reservations.

Normally if someone tells me that a book or movie is REALLY good, it builds an unattainable expectation in my head, so when I finally do get around to reading or seeing it I am disappointed.

This was NOT the case with this workshop. He was engaging, humorous and chock-full of knowledge. And the important thing was he was able to provide the knowledge in a way that I was actually able to absorb and will be able to use in my writing.

Characters, scenes, world-building, the improbable and micro-tension were his main topics of conversation.

My hand ached from writing non stop all day long, making sure I got his suggestions down on paper. My head felt like it was going to explode (in a good way) from all the information and ideas he imparted.

Last week I wrote ‘the end’ to one of my manuscripts. Perfect timing, since I am going to take what I learned on Saturday and apply it to making my manuscript even better!

Needless to say, I was NOT disappointed by Donald Maass, and that’s a good thing.

 

Leave a Reply

