Why January is my Favorite Month!

Okay, if you know me, and I hope you get to know me from my blogs, the title above is a tease. Let me tell you what January means in my world. I live in Northern Ohio and tomorrow morning when I get up the temperature is going to be 7 degrees. I am not a winter sports person. Ice skating and skiing would undoubtedly result in a trip to and emergency room. I leave work at the end of the day and it is dark and dreary. Sun in the winter is not a common occurrence in Ohio.

So why am I declaring January my favorite month? Due to the laundry list of doldrums I have listed above, I write more in the winter than any other time of year. Last night I finished my first draft of a novel. In this month alone, I wrote 25,000 words to finish it off! My body may be hibernating during these frigid months, but my brain goes into hyperdrive.

Outside the snow is falling and I have settled into my furry slippers and robe with my laptop perched on my lap as I type away. It’s therapeutic and a cheap vacation. It’s why January is my new favorite month! (I’ll let you know how February goes).

Leave a Reply

