I am a Finalist in Chicago RWA’s Fire & Ice Contest!

I am ecstatic to write that I am a finalist in the paranormal category of the Chicago RWA’s Fire & Ice Contest! Yahoo. Hallelujah. Praise God.

As you can see, I am a tiny bit excited. For those of you who don’t know about contests, they are a great tool for writers to learn the craft and receive feedback from other writers. If you are lucky enough to final, then your entry also goes in front of a ‘final judge’ who is usually an agent or editor. They provide feedback to the your entry as well which can be invaluable in a world where one-line rejection letters are often the modus operandi. Understandable for the agent and editor who must review countless slush pile entries, but frustrating in some respects for the writer who is craving any type of constructive feedback to help develop their craft. So I will be receiving some words of wisdom from an editor on my entry.

The category winners will be announced at the Spring Fling Conference taking place in Chicago at the end of April. I am planning on attending the conference, so it will be fun to be there for the announcement. I’ll keep you apprised….

One thought on “I am a Finalist in Chicago RWA’s Fire & Ice Contest!

Leave a Reply

