Season of Writing

It feels appropriate to post this blog after Labor Day Weekend, which equates to the end of summer. I’ve come to the realization that in much the same way the seasons affect moods, they also affect my writing.

Summer is when writing gets hard for me, the lure of going outside and enjoying myself is strong, and I find my concentration split between my writing and the weather.

Fall is my favorite season. I put away my sandals (sigh), pull out my sweatshirts and sit down to the business of writing. I gear up for the productive months ahead, fitting in my annual Halloween party of course (paranormal – Halloween – you see the connection right?)

Winter and early spring are my productive months. I come home from work at night and hibernate with my computer, delving into my characters and scenes with almost an otherworldy obsession.

So even though I am sad the summer has passed so quickly, I am excited to start up my new ‘season of writing’.

Leave a Reply

