Conference Buzz

Friday and today, I attended my regional writer’s conference through NEORWA. (I need to give the group a plug – if you are a writer in OH or PA looking for a group to learn from, commiserate with, talk to, take online classes from, etc – this is your organization! Go to NEORWA.com to check it out.)

Now I am sitting on my couch with my cat purring uncontrollably in my lap while I try to unwind and type this new blog. The conference was good and it is always great to meet with a group of people who have the same interests and aspirations you have.

If you have never been to a conference, let me give you  a breakdown. Many of these conferences include authors who do break out sessions as well as a key note speaker. This year’s keynote was Lori Foster. Big deal – as in 85 published books big deal. And one of the nicest, down to earth people you want to meet.

I think that is what has amazed me most about my experiences with Romance Writers of America (RWA). The authors, agents, editors, etc who are affiliated with the group are willing to help you.

I know – that may seem like a foreign concept for other professional organization, but not RWA. Famous authors have no problem giving advice to those of us starting out.

Oftentimes, agents and editors are also in attendance and you get to spend time with them asking questions and pitching.

In my last blog I compared pitching to speed dating – sweaty palms, bell ringing, time’s up! This time I had two (yes two) pitches. One with an agent and one with an editor. Both women were great and very supportive. They have asked to see my full manuscript (cue choir of angels here).

Now, I know that the ‘proof is in the puddin’ as they say.  My pages have to speak for me. I only hope they emphatically say “Unique story – hook we can work with – strong voice!”

In the meantime, I will keep plugging away and not get waylaid by the what ifs – honest, I won’t!

Leave a Reply

